Hello!

Fair warning: this is a lengthy post. Not all will be quite so long, but I do tend to be loquacious. 

To those of you who I have not yet had the pleasure to meet, my name is Abby Henderson. I am a 22 year-old recent college graduate (Go Sun Devils!) and I will be moving to South Africa in August as a part of the Young Adults in Global Mission Program with the ELCA. Through this incredible opportunity, I will be spending about 11 months living and working in a community across the world. If you would like to learn more about this program, feel free to check out the website at http://www.elca.org/Who-We-Are/Our-Three-Expressions/Churchwide-Organization/Global-Mission/Engage-in-Global-Mission/Global-Service/Basics-of-Global-Service/Young-Adults/South-Africa.aspx. 

My placement for the year will take me to Athlone and Bellville, communities in the Western Cape Circuit of South Africa. These communities are close to Cape Town, and are a part of the Western Cape Circuit of the Cape Orange Diocese of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Southern Africa (ELCSA). I will be able to include much more on these communities once I am actually living, learning, and working there. For now, you can check the map I’ve included to get a general idea of where I will be. Also for fun, I’ve included one that shows the distance between Tempe and Bellville. 

Image

Image

As far as support, there are many ways you can support me in my journey! First and foremost, of course, is prayer (or karma, good vibes, etc). Please keep me, my community, and my fellow YAGMs in your prayers. I will mention any specific prayer requests throughout the year. The second way to support me is through financial contributions. The cost of a YAGM year is about $11,000. The ELCA will support me by providing about $7,000 of that amount, which means I still need to fundraise $4,000. Any amount that you feel you can provide will be incredibly appreciated. If you want, you can fund me for a day for $15 or a week for $100. You can even pick a specific day/week and I will dedicate a blog post to you! If you would like to donate to my journey, please send me an email at henderson.abigail@gmail.com or contact me via facebook and I will get the information to you! You can also support me through staying in touch, and sending love to me abroad!

I want to thank you all for the amazing love and support you have shown me so far! I have been blessed with the best friends and family anyone could ask for, and I am so excited to share my YAGM year with you! If you want to follow the nine other wonderful YAGMs in South Africa, check out the South Africa blog at http://yagmsa.wordpress.com/! As a way to complete this introduction, here is a picture of us (minus Luke) with our wonderful country coordinator, Tessa. 

Image

